Databases A-Z

Content: JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of core scholarly journals and eBooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The SRSU Library has access to several archive collections through JSTOR, including:

Arts & Sciences I

Arts & Sciences II

Arts & Sciences III

Arts & Sciences IV

Arts & Sciences VII

Life Sciences Collection

Coverage: All journal titles through JSTOR include a full archival run starting from the first volume. Many include content up to a period of around 3-5 years ago.

Tutorial: View a tutorial about using JSTOR | View JSTOR's LibGuide about using JSTOR

Content: Reference Shelf is a digital collection of reference materials that cover a wide range of topics, including history, literature, social issues, science, technology, and current events. This resource provides eBooks and articles that can be accessed by multiple users at the same time, making it ideal for both browsing and in-depth research.

Content: Choice is a reviewing tool for faculty and academic librarians as a resource for collection development and scholarly research. Choice publishes more than 500 new reviews monthly and provides access to a comprehensive archive of more than 200,000 reviews representing a quarter-century of scholarship.

 

Content: The Online Guide to U.S. Map Collections is a directory of map collections, big and small, across the United States. This initiative is a project of the Map and Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT) of the American Library Association.

Content: TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public. The site consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online.

Content: Incorporated in 2003, the Texas Archive of the Moving Image (TAMI) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization working to discover, preserve, provide access to, and educate the community about Texas’ film heritage. TAMI partners with the Office of the Governor’s Texas Film Commission to administer the Texas Film Round-Up program, which provides free digitization for Texas-related films and videotapes, online access to a selection of the contributed materials, and statewide public programming, as well as creates educator resources using these newly digitized Texas media in the classroom.
Related links: Videos from the Archives of the Big Bend have been digitized by TAMI. Find them here.

Content: A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.