Journals

Print journals are found on the second floor of the library in alphabetical order and can be browsed using the PHL (Periodicals Holding List). Electronic Journals can be found in our online journal databases using the PEF (Periodicals in Electronic Format). Here are some selected journal titles (both print and electronic) that may be useful. These journal titles are available electronically unless otherwise indicated.

American Educational Research Journal 1999-present (electronic) 1964-2010 (print)	New England Reading Association Journal 1996-present (electronic)
Austrailian Journal of Language and Literacy 2002-present (electronic)	Reading and Writing Quarterly 1997-present (electronic)
Educational Research 1993-present (electronic)	Reading Horizons 1996-present (electronic) 1960-2011 (print)
Educational Research Quarterly: ERQ 2001-present (electronic) 1976-present (print)	Reading Improvement 2004-2012 (electronic) 1964-2011 (print)
Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy 1996-present (electronic) 1995-present (print)	Reading Research and Instruction: The Journal of the College Reading Association 1985-2007 (print)
Journal of Early Childhood Literacy 2001-present (electronic)	Reading Teacher 1990-present (electronic) 1951-present (print)
Journal of Research in Reading 1997-present (electronic)	Scientific Studies of Reading 1997-present (electronic)
Language Arts 1975-present (print)	Written Language and Literacy 2003-present (electronic)
Literacy 1998-present (electronic)	Journal of Educational Research 1974-present (electronic) 1920-2011 (print)
Literacy Today 2002-2011 (electronic)

Journal Databases

Databases list articles from various publications, not all of which are owned by Sul Ross
Therefore, databases will not always provide an entire article online, sometimes they will only provide the abstract.
If you find an article that only has the abstract available, but you would like to view the full text PDF, you can click on the LinkSource link (a green LS hyperlink next to the title of the article) to see if we have the full-text located in any other of our online databases. If we truly do not have the article, then you will be directed to our Inter Library Loan form where you can request the article from there.
If you access a database off campus you MUST log in using your Sul Ross username and password

Below is a list of databases that are useful for Education research. Remember that you can search multiple EBSCO Databases at the same time.

EBSCO Databases

Academic Search Complete: Scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study. Includes many full-text articles.

Education Full Text: Comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, from hundreds of journals.

ERIC: ERIC is the world's largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.

Humanities Full Text: provides references to articles covering diverse subject areas of the humanities including education.

Professional Educational Development Collection: Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals and includes more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.

Teacher Reference Center: This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Non-EBSCO Databases

Academic OneFile: This is a good source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

Films on Demand: Over 16,000 streaming educational videos from publishers like BBC, Films for Humanities and Sciences, TED Talks, National Geographic, and PBS. Topics covered include Anthropology, Archival Films & Newsreels, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Communication, Criminal Justice & Law, Earth Science, Education, Engineering, English, Environmental Science, Geography, Health & Medicine, History, Mathematics, Music & Dance, Philosophy & Religion, Physical Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Technology & Society, and World Language

LearningExpress Library: More than 1000 practice tests, including GRE, LSAT, SAT, ACT, THEA and GED. Also has 200 Ebooks, courses and skills tutorials for Elementary School, Middle School, High School, College Preparation, College Students, Popular Software Tutorials, GED Preparation, Workplace Skills Improvement, Occupation Practice Tests, Skill Building for Adults, U.S. Citizenship, Recursos para Hispanohablantes, and Computer & Internet Basics. To use this totally interactive resource, set up a personal account for instant online scoring and customized analysis of your strengths and weaknesses.

Sage Journals Online: The SAGE Full-Text Collections are award-winning, discipline-specific research databases of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE Publications and participating societies.

Theses Databases

PQDT Open: PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

Theses @ Sul Ross State University: Records for over 225 Sul Ross thesis going back to 1985. Over 100 have full text available to download.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses: This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries.