What does the future of libraries and archives look like? What does the future of SRSU Library and Archives of the Big Bend look like?
To join this conversation on April 19 at 2:30 PM via Teams, check your SRSU email for the link!
Introduction
Join us to talk about some of the facets of the future of libraries and archives, so that we might better consider the future of SRSU Library and the Archives of the Big Bend. Spoiler alert: It's not all online!
Learning Outcomes of this Conversation:
- Participants will better understand key concepts in academic libraries and archives
- Participants will discuss with more authority trends in academic libraries and archives
- Participants will be able to contribute to further discussions and collaborations with the SRSU Library and Archives of the Big Bend
Background Resources
- Blankstein, M. (2022, July 14). Ithaka S+R US Faculty Survey 2021. Ithaka S+R.
- Bosch, S., Romaine, S., Albee, B., and Elliott, C. M. (2023) Going for Gold, Deep in the Red. Library Journal.
- Cohen, D. (2023, Mar 23). Libraries need more freedom to distribute digital books. The Atlantic.
- Cox, R. (2015) Graduate Archival Education in the United States; A Personal Reflection About Its Past and Future. The Journal of Contemporary Archival Studies.
- D'Agostino, S. (2023, Apr 6). Librarians' 'new normal' includes pain points. Inside HigherEd.
- D'Agostino, S. (2023, Feb 16). Vermont State University's 'All-Digital' library fiasco. Inside HigherEd.
- DeMarco, Nikki (2013, Jan 18). The future of libraries. Bookriot.com
- Hulbert, I. G. (2023, Mar 30). Research Report: Ithaka S+R US Library Survey 2022: Navigating the New Normal. Ithaka S+R.
Values Statements
- ACRL's Standards for Libraries in Higher Education (2018)
- ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education (2016)
- ACRL's Standards for Distance and Online Learning Library Services (2023)
- ALA's Core Values of Librarianship (2019)
- SAA's Core Values Statement and Code of Ethics (2020)
Publications
- College & Research Libraries - open access, peer-reviewed "official scholarly research journal of the Association of College & Research Libraries"
- The American Archivist - online, peer-reviewed journal, "leading publication in the archives field" via Society of American Archivists
- Archival Outlook - Society of American Archivist's award-winning bimonthly magazine