April is National Poetry Month
National Poetry Month is a celebration of poets and poetry that began in 1996. Scroll to access poetry from the library in the form of eBooks, online journals, databases, and more.
eBooks
Window Poems by
Composed while Wendell Berry looked out the multipaned window of his writing studio, this early sequence of poems contemplates Berry's personal life as much as it ponders the seasons he witnessed through the window. First designed and printed on a Washington hand press by Bob Barris at the Press on Scroll Road,Window Poems includes elegant wood engravings by Wesley Bates that complement the reflective and meditative beauty of Berry's poems.
ISBN: 9781582436234Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Welcome to the Anthropocene
Alice Major observes the comedy and the tragedy of this human-dominated moment on Earth. Major's most persistent question--"Where do we fit in the universe?"--is made more urgent by the ecological calamity of human-driven climate change. Her poetry leads us to question human hierarchies, loyalties, and consciousness, and challenges us to find some humility in our overblown sense of our cosmic significance.Now, welcome to the Anthropoceneyou battered, tilting globe. Still you gleam,a blue pearl on the necklace of the planets.This home. Clouds, oceans, life forms span itfrom pole to pole, within a peel of airas thin as lace lapped round an apple. Fairand fragile bounded sphere, yet strangely tough--this world that life could never love enough.And yet its loving-care has been entrustedto a feckless species, more investedin the partial, while the total goes unnoticed.-- from "Welcome to the Anthropocene"
ISBN: 9781772123685Publication Date: 2018-01-31
Collection Development and Serials Librarian Elizabeth Davis recommends Welcome To The Anthropocene by Alice Major (2018). The description of the book entices, offering that "Major's most persistent question—“Where do we fit in the universe?”—is made more urgent by the ecological calamity of human-driven climate change."
Lava Lamp Poems by
Colleen Higgs launched Modjaji Books, the first publishing house for southern African women writers, in 2007. Her first collection of poetry, Halfborn Woman, was published in 2004. She lives in Cape Town with her partner and her daughter.
ISBN: 9781920397258Publication Date: 2010-12-01
The Carrying by
WINNER OF THE 2018 NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD ALA NOTABLE BOOK OF 2018 FINALIST FOR THE 2019 PEN/JEAN STEIN BOOK AWARD From National Book Award and National Book Critics Circle Award finalist Ada Limón comes The Carrying--her most powerful collection yet. Vulnerable, tender, acute, these are serious poems, brave poems, exploring with honesty the ambiguous moment between the rapture of youth and the grace of acceptance. A daughter tends to aging parents. A woman struggles with infertility--"What if, instead of carrying / a child, I am supposed to carry grief?"--and a body seized by pain and vertigo as well as ecstasy. A nation convulses: "Every song of this country / has an unsung third stanza, something brutal." And still Limón shows us, as ever, the persistence of hunger, love, and joy, the dizzying fullness of our too-short lives. "Fine then, / I'll take it," she writes. "I'll take it all." In Bright Dead Things, Limón showed us a heart "giant with power, heavy with blood"--"the huge beating genius machine / that thinks, no, it knows, / it's going to come in first." In her follow-up collection, that heart is on full display--even as The Carrying continues further and deeper into the bloodstream, following the hard-won truth of what it means to live in an imperfect world.
ISBN: 9781571315120Publication Date: 2018-08-14
Poetry for Beginners by
This pocket-sized paperback is one of the twenty-four titles published for 2017 Hong Kong International Poetry Nights. The theme of IPHHK2017 is "Ancient Enmity". IPNHK is one of the most influential international poetry events in Asia. From 22-26 November 2017, over 20 invited poets from various countries will be in Hong Kong to read their works based on the theme "Ancient Enmity." Included in the anthology and box set, these unique works are presented with Chinese and English translations in bilingual or trilingual formats.
ISBN: 9789882370241Publication Date: 2018-03-13
Archives' Digital Collections
Senior Archivist Melleta Bell shares Walter Fulcher's handwritten translations of La Golondrina from a recently launched digital collection of the Archives' own collection. She writes: "The verse [translated in Fulcher's letters] became lyrics as composed by Narciso Serradell Sevilla (1843-1910) who was imprisoned and exiled to France during Mexico’s war against the occupying French in the mid 1800’s. This song is pervasive throughout Mexican culture and is known and appreciated worldwide, translated into other languages, recorded by many artists. I grew up hearing it not realizing the extent of its popularity. More about Walter Fulcher can also be found with his online materials. It has been described as a “veritable hymn . . . expressing nostalgia to moments of loss, departure, and exile.”
Magazines and Journals
- Try out Flipster titles such as The Sun or The New Yorker. (See: How do I use Flipster? for help.)
- Magma Poetry Journal features contemporary poetry with a different editor for each issue
- The American Poetry Review focuses on contemporary poetry and literary prose
- Alba: A Journal of Short Poetry exclusively publishes short poetry, usually no longer than 12 lines
Databases
Note: All of the Library's subscription databases can be found at Databases A-Z.
- Twentieth Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content: Includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
Tutorial: View a tutorial about ProQuest databases - Twentieth Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content: Contains the poetry of over 285 English poets from 1900 to the present day.
Tutorial: View a tutorial about ProQuest databases - Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowContent: Provides access to thousands of programs grouped into convenient subject-specific categories. New programs added monthly.
Related links: Films on Demand Help
