Tools for OA publishing
Tools for Selecting a Journal Publisher
- Sherpa Romeo / Sherpa Juliet
Sherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis.
Sherpa Juliet enables researchers and librarians to see funders' conditions for open access publication. Sherpa Juliet is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning research funders' policies and their requirements on open access, publication, and data archiving.
Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!
Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors' or 'Find Articles'. Jane will then compare your document to millions of documents in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors or articles.
Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.
Finding OA content
Finding Open Access Content
SRSU Library and Archives provides access to extensive collections as well as partnerships with other universities to help you get the materials you need for your classes and research, but situations may still arise where you want to find openly accessible content. For example, you may be writing for a public (non-academic) audience, without access to the collections and services of an academic library.
One strategy is to limit your search results in a database to just open access content.
Here are a few more tools for finding open access content:
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This is a searchable directory of open access journals across all disciplines.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
- Open Access Button
Chrome extension: The next time you can't access the research you need, use the Open Access Button. The Button searches thousands of sources to get you instant, legal access to articles. - Google Scholar Button
Chrome, Firefox, and Safari extension. Works with your Google Scholar settings. Look up papers from citations, cite papers, or search via the button. - Unpaywall
Chrome & Firefox extension to find available versions of a published article. Unpaywall is run by Impactstory, a nonprofit dedicated to making scholarship more accessible to everyone. - Kopernio
Chrome extension that works with Web of Science, PubMed, and Google Scholar to find navigate Paywalls by automatically search university library subscriptions, pre-print servers and institutional repositories for PDFs.
Support for Open Access Journal Editors
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access
It is important to register open access journals in the Directory of Open Access Journals as a discovery tool. In addition, the record can then be automatically harvested for inclusion in library catalogs around the world. More information on applying for your journal to be in DOAJ is available.
- Indexing
Librarians can identify publishers of indexing and abstracting databases that may accept your journal for inclusion. Librarians can make direct recommendations to some publishers (e.g. EBSCO or ProQuest), or provide contact and policy information for others (e.g. Web of Science).
- Library and Archives catalog record(s)
Librarians can ensure that a record is created for the relevant SRSU Library and Archives catalog(s).
Resources for transitioning a traditional, subscription-based journal to open access:
- The University of California Office of Scholarly Communication Transitioning Journals to Open Access toolkit
- SPARC's Transitioning your journal from subscription to open access