Suggested Reference Material
Reference works contain general information about a specific topic and are great places to start your research. Our physical reference collection at the Bryan Wildenthal Memorial Library in Alpine is non-circulating, but there are many reference works available online through our subscription databases. Here are some good places to start:
- eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content: Gale eBooks offers broad cross-curricular collection of non-fiction titles, supporting science, geography, history, language arts, business and other subjects. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale eBooks platform enables you to search through multiple nonfiction eBooks within a single search.
Related links: Help - Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content: Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
Tutorial: View a tutorial on Academic OneFile - ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content: eBook Central contains the full text of more than 120,000 eBooks, all from academic publishers. It includes a diverse collection of nonfiction and fiction titles, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works.
The Library's Discovery System also offers access to helpful articles called Research Starters. These articles include links to relevant articles, images, videos and audio clips pulled from high quality sources such as Salem Press and Encyclopedia Britannica.
To find a topic overview, perform a keyword search from the Library's homepage.
