College of Graduate Studies - SRSU Library and Archives Orientation

SRSU Library and Archives Research Guides

Research Guides are curated guides based on fields of study, specific courses, or other relevant topics to research and information literacy. You're currently viewing a Research Guide! All Research Guides can be found here: https://sulross.libguides.com/, where you can narrow available guides by subject, type, or author, for example.

Librarians maintain Research Guides for academic subjects based on available academic programs at SRSU. To find specifically curated resources for your area of study, select a subject from the subject list view, library.sulross.edu/help-support/research-guides/.

Databases A-Z

Databases A-Z (sulross.libguides.com/az/databases) is a searchable list of the SRSU Library and Archives' database offerings, including paid subscription subject-specific databases, data repositories, and open access resources selected by SRSU librarians.

Databases A-Z navigates you to database portals made accessible by a variety of content providers. Use Databases A-Z when you want to search within subject-specific databases.

Archives of the Big Bend, library.sulross.edu/archives

The Archives of the Big Bend, housed on the second floor of the Bryan Wildenthal Memorial Library in Alpine, is an important and dynamic historical resource for the Sul Ross State University and Big Bend region communities.

The collection scope includes the Trans-Pecos of Texas and the corresponding border area of northern Mexico. Holdings include manuscripts; records of businesses, organizations, and individuals; photographs; maps; oral histories; newspapers; books; and the University Archives.

Graduate Students are welcome to make use of the Archives for research projects.

Start by getting inspired. Visit the archives to look at research done in the past. You never know what new ideas or questions past projects might inspire.

Use primary sources. The Archives of the Big Bend has thousands of photographs, journals, data logs, and more.

• Read about Archival Collections
• View uploaded Finding Aids
• Search the Physical Catalog/Archives Search
• Browse Digital Collections

Go local. We have records from and about the entire Big Bend region and beyond. Learn more about your subject through a Far West Texas lens.

Add context. Using historical records can add valuable perspectives to any project.

Niche Academy for SRSU

Check out Librarian-created and Librarian-approved tutorials for Research Essentials, Technology, Electronic Resources (eResources), Social Media, and Job Skills, embedded below or through your Niche Academy portal, my.nicheacademy.com/sulross 

Create a Niche Academy Learner Account and get certificates upon completion of tutorials. No log-in is required to access tutorials. Review current tutorial offerings below, and learn more about Niche Academy by reading their FAQ .