Research Guides: TexShare Databases Guide: Currently Contracted TexShare Databases

Currently Contracted Databases

These databases are currently available through the TexShare program under contracts running from June 1, 2025 through May 31, 2026. Use the list below to see what's included and explore the available resources.

ProQuest

HeritageQuest Online
Content: Provides access to a collection of genealogical and historical sources including U.S. Federal Censuses, books, bank records, unique primary sources and local and family histories.
Tutorial: View a tutorial about ProQuest databases
Historical Newspapers: The Austin American-Statesman (1871–1980)
Content: Provides access to a historical archive of the Austin American-Statesman covering 1871-1980.
Tutorial: View a tutorial about ProQuest databases
Historical Newspapers: El Paso Herald/El Paso Times
Content: ProQuest Historical Newspapers: El Paso Herald/El Paso Times provides full text articles from the El Paso Times (1881 -2009) and El Paso Herald Post (1896 - 1996).
Newsweek Magazine Archive, 1933-2012
Content: The Newsweek Archive offers digital access the full run of the US edition of Newsweek, from its launch in 1933 to 2012 (when the print edition originally ceased).* With an international circulation that peaked at more than 3 million, it has been one of the largest and most influential weekly consumer magazines. Renowned for its high-quality reporting and commentary, the archive charts the key US and global events and issues across eight decades.
SciTech Collection Premium
Content: The SciTech Premium Collection is a multidisciplinary content collection of scholarly and learned material in the natural sciences, technology, engineering, and related disciplines.
Tutorial: View a tutorial about ProQuest databases here
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970
Content: Provides academic and public libraries digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. .
Tutorial: View a tutorial about ProQuest databases
Twentieth Century American Poetry
Content: Includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
Tutorial: View a tutorial about ProQuest databases
Twentieth Century English Poetry
Content: Contains the poetry of over 285 English poets from 1900 to the present day.
Tutorial: View a tutorial about ProQuest databases
Behavioral and Mental Health Online
Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. The content in this collection includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works
Health Research Premium Collection
Journal articles, evidence-based resources, and dissertations in a variety of essential health content.
Academic Video Online
Content: Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary video subscription covering many academic subjects. It includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, newsreels, and demonstrations.
ProQuest eBook Central
Content: eBook Central contains the full text of more than 120,000 eBooks, all from academic publishers. It includes a diverse collection of nonfiction and fiction titles, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works.

Cengage Learning (Gale)

Gale Academic OneFile
Content: Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
Tutorial: View a tutorial on Academic OneFile
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)
Content: Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.
eBooks (Gale)
Content: Gale eBooks offers broad cross-curricular collection of non-fiction titles, supporting science, geography, history, language arts, business and other subjects. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale eBooks platform enables you to search through multiple nonfiction eBooks within a single search.
Related links: Help
General OneFile (Gale)
Content: Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
College (Gale In Context)
Content: An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. Access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Content: Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Tutorial View a tutorial about GALE databases
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Content: Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their own literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. The database features primary works in a variety of genres, up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews that encourage interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)
Content: Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.
National Geographic Magazine Archive. 1888-2020
Content: The National Geographic Magazine Archive online includes complete page-to-page coverage of every issue of the magazine from 1888 to 2020 in a high resolution color format.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Content: Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Tutorial: View a tutorial about GALE databases
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Content: Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Content: Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Chilton Library (Gale)
Content: Provides domestic and import vehicle information through the current model year. Offers repair, maintenance, labor estimating, and bulletin/recall information. Includes ASE test prep quizzes for the most popular certification exams.
Tutorial: View a tutorial on Chilton Library

EBSCO

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Content: Users can search within a wide range of relevant eBooks using the powerful EBSCOhost search experience. Relevant eBook titles appear directly alongside databases and other digital content, exposing users to the full depth of the library's offerings.
Related links: Learn about downloading EBSCO eBooks with the EBSCO eBook app and how to view EBSCO eBooks on your computer.
LearningExpress Library
Content: This library provides access to nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests and eBooks to help users of all ages including job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math and basic science, career certification and license exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED test prep and more.
Note: You must create a free account to fully access the resource. A personal account allows the user to save the work in progress, store score reports, and revisit any practice tests, tutorials, or eBooks.
Tutorial: View a tutorial about LearningExpress Library
Life Magazine Archive, 1936-2000
Content: Presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning from its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions.