Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a searchable directory of open access journals across all disciplines.
Many publishers support one or more open access journals, and their websites are another place to begin your search.
Additional resources:
This is a searchable directory of open access journals across all disciplines.
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs).
Choose journals for publication carefully. Read Elmore & Weston's (2020) Predatory Journals: What they are and how to avoid them for more information, or contact your SRSU Librarians for help.
Open Access Repositories
Depositing your work in an open access repository is another way to share your research. Be careful to comply with copyright and licensing restrictions when uploading your published work. Repositories may be institutional, such as the SRSU Library and Archives SRSU Faculty Publications digital collection, or discipline-specific.
A note on Academia.edu and ResearchGate: Both platforms are commercial enterprises (despite the former's top-level domain) and sell user data. Consider using a trusted open access repository instead.
For more on this issue, check out Erzsebet Toth-Czfira's (2020) One more word about ResearchGate/Academia.edu from DARIAH Open and Gail Steinhart's (2020) Choosing and using academic sharing and networking platforms available via eCommons@Cornell.
The Directory of Open Access Repositories is a searchable database of academic open access repositories.
arXiv® is a curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. arXiv currently serves the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv was founded by Paul Ginsparg in 1991 and is now maintained and operated by Cornell Tech.
Modeled after ArXiv, the well-known physics pre-print repository, this brand new disciplinary repository operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, is a pre-print archive for the biological sciences.
PubMed Central is a full-text, open access database (to be distinguished from PubMed which is a citation database) administered by the National Library of Medicine. Depending on publishers' policies, authors can submit published articles for inclusion and are required to do so in the case of NIH-funded research.
A nonprofit, interdisciplinary repository for the humanities.
Open Access Books and Textbooks
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
Provided by the OAPEN library and publication platform, the Open Access Books Toolkit covers specific topics related to open access books. Each article offers a quick and brief introduction to a particular aspect of open access book publishing.
A guide to Open Educational Resources (OER) at SRSU maintained by SRSU Library and Archives.