Skip to Main Content

SRSU 1101 - Library Orientation

Welcome to the Sul Ross Library

Top 10 Things to Know about the SRSU Library and Archives

To sum up this guide, check out the Top 10 for students at your SRSU Library and Archives

10. You can borrow things from the Library -- and not just books.

9. Librarians are an asset for your research assignments.

  • #AskALibrarian for help in your research assignments, whether you're just getting started, you're hitting a wall, or you're reviewing your Works Cited page.

8. Libraries have entertainment too...

  • When you need a break from homework and assignments, use the SRSU Library and Archives for entertainment in the form of popular magazines (n the library and online); check out DVDs, or just relax and enjoy the view.

7. If we don't have what you want, we'll do our best to track it down.

  • The Library offers a free service called InterLibrary Loan that enables SRSU students, staff, and faculty to borrow materials from other libraries worldwide, or have print materials scanned and delivered via email.

6. Make it personal and take the Library with you. Get a MyEBSCO account...

  • MyEBSCO accounts enable users to save searches and resources from EBSCO databases -- and because the account isn't associated with your LoboID and password, you can take it with you to other institutions like graduate school! They also make accessing eBooks easier. [Learn more on the FAQ]

5. The Library's website is our virtual front door

  • Be sure to bookmark library.sulross.edu as your first stop for research while at SRSU to access all types of databases, digital collections, and help from librarians and others. You can also access the Library's website through your my.sulross.edu portal as well as through your courses on Blackboard.

4. The Library houses the Archives of the Big Bend

  • The Archives of the Big Bend, on the second floor of the Bryan Wildenthal Memorial Library, collects and holds the region and University's history in the form of manuscripts, records, photographs, maps, oral histories, newspapers, and books.

3. Librarian-created Research Guides can help you get started

  • Research Guides are evolving guides built by librarians to cover special topics, specific disciplines, and more to help you navigate accessing resources in specific subject areas and resources. Additional library guides exist to help with research- and library-specific work such as using eBooks and citing your sources.

2. Best view in Alpine, Texas - follow us on Instagram to see all the views

1. Librarians are here for YOU!

  • It is worth mentioning more than once that librarians at SRSU Library and Archives are here to support you, the students of SRSU. No matter how you get help from a librarian -- in person, over the phone, via email, or through social media -- make sure that you do get help! Visit library.sulross.edu/ask for all the ways you can get help from a librarian.